President's annual report 2010

Dear Colleagues, dear Friends

This annual report should be shorter than usual, since only six month passed from the last general assembly. However, a lot of things happened during that period.

First of all, there was the last annual meeting in Basel. The high quality of the presented talks was noticed by everyone. The talks on state-of-the-art topics in medical physics research gave a clear sign that medical physics in Switzerland is up to date. The entertainment events were also appreciated. I'd like to warmly thank the organizers for such a good annual meeting. The next annual meeting will take place in Wabern at METAS on the 11th and12th November 2010.

As you know, the board met several times with the SPAMP board to prepare the meetings of today. Up to now, things are going as the majority of the two boards would like. But this is another story and I will come back later on it. Apart of these joint meetings, the board met two times to discuss the open subjects. Among others, the board decided :

• To react to the information of METAS concerning the change in the calibration method for ionising chambers. This led to an answer of METAS and a meeting where Shelley Bulling and Léon André participated with me. The general conclusion is that METAS would like to have more communication with SSRMP and it has been decided that MEATS and SSRMP meet once a year for discussing common subjects of interest. As it was expected, the decision taken by METAS to change the calibration method for ionisation chambers is definitive and no other way can be expected in the future.

• To react to the information of METAS concerning the end of the contract with IRA in primary radiometrology. This subject has been shortly discussed during the meeting and METAS informed that a new proposition would be done in the near future.

• To react to the KSR position concerning doses in IGRT. The president of the commission sent a letter informing the board that this topic will be reevaluated by the medical sub-commission of KSR. We do expect a discussion in the following month.

• To delegate the organisation of the next meeting, that will be held in METAS 11 and 12 nonvember 2010, to Dr D. Twerenbold. I do thank him here for his commitment.

• To delegate W. Roser, P. Manser and W. Seelentag to the organization of the next dreiländer tagung that will take place in Wien in 2011.

• To propose G. Lutters as candidate for a position at EFOMP committee of education and training. Unfortunately he was not elected.

• To delegate M. Pachoud as representative of SSRMP in the organizing committee of a joint meeting organized by ARRAD (association romande de radioptotection) and supported by SSRMP.

There have also been the usual meeting between BAG, SSRMP and SPAMP where W. Roser, F. Corminboeuf and me were present. The discussions were fruitful as usual. The most important were : translation of report Nr 20 (by the way, the translations have been published in our website), reactivation of CIRS, situation of isotope metrology in METAS.

An important achievement has been the acceptation of our recommendation Nr 16 on QA for IGRT by AMP (the board still has to accept it). This recommendation was long expected by BAG, but i twas also missing in our set of recommendations. I thank all the members of the working group and particularly J.-F. Germond who did chair this group for their work.

Angelika Pfaefflin will step down from the editorial board of the Bulletin. Angelika did this important job very well for more than six years. This represents a huge amount of work and I deeply thank Angelika for that. Bulletin editor is an important and time consuming task. Fortunately, Regina Mueller stays in the boat and hopefully, we found a new Bulletin editor who accepted to join Regina. This is Shelley Bulling who will continue the work. I do thank Shelley very much for his commitment.

Independent of the outcome of your votes on the 8th of June, two people will leave the board, and this is the end of an important era for our society. Wolf Seelentag and Jean-François Germond will step down from the board. They were the last medical physics pioneers of Switzerland still in the board. Both of them have been president of SSRPM. Among the many roles that they have had, they have been representative of SSRMP in EFOMP (and even general secretary), member and president of working groups, member and president of Fachkommission, SSRMP webmaster, organizer of the annual congress, etc... Between them they have held most of the positions in our society. They have both contributed an enormous amount to SSRMP. In the name of our society I thank them very much and wish them well for their (soon but not yet) retirement.

Meilleures salutations de Lausanne,

Raphaël Moeckli President SSRMP